MATH-IMS Joint Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series

This MATH-IMS Joint Colloquium Series is organized by Center for Mathematical Artificial Intelligence (CMAI), under Department of Mathematics and Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMS) at The Chinese University of Hong Kong. The colloquium series focuses on mathematics and applications of artificial intelligence, big data and related topics.



Upcoming talks

Date & Time Venue Speaker Topics Files
18 Dec 2020 (Fri)
11:00-12:00
(online via Zoom)
Link
Prof. Thomas Hou
(Caltech)
Asymptotic escape of saddles and unified global analysis for low-rank matrix recovery -
22 Jan 2021 (Fri)
9:30-10:30
(online via Zoom)
Link
Prof. Andrew Stuart
(Caltech)
To be announced -
26 Jan 2021 (Tue)
16:00-17:00
(online via Zoom)
Link
Prof. Ron Kimmel
(Technion)
To be announced -
5 Feb 2021 (Fri)
(online via Zoom)
Link
Prof. Qiang Du
(Columbia)
To be announced -



Past talks

Date & Time Speaker Topics Video Link Files
20 Nov 2020 (Fri)
10:00-11:00
Prof. Shi Jin
(Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
Random Batch Methods for classical and quantum
N-body problems
/ Poster
Slides
6 Nov 2020 (Fri)
10:00-11:00
Prof. Björn Engquist
(U.T. Austin)
Global convergence of stochastic gradient descent / Poster
30 Oct 2020 (Fri)
16:00-17:00
Prof. Pierre Degond
(Imperial College London)
Topological protection in collective dynamics / Poster
16 Oct 2020 (Fri)
10:00-11:00
Prof. Weinan E
(Princeton University)
Machine Learning and Computational Mathematics Link Poster
Slides
9 Oct 2020 (Fri)
16:00-17:00
Prof. Jan Hesthaven
(EPFL)
Nonintrusive Reduced Order Models using Physics Informed Neural Networks / Poster
25 Sep 2020 (Fri)
10:00-11:00
Prof. Chi-Wang Shu
(Brown University)
Stability of Time Discretizations for Semi-discrete High Order Schemes for Time-dependent PDEs / Poster
Slides
11 Sep 2020 (Fri)
09:00-10:00
Prof. Jianfeng Lu
(Duke University)
Quantitative Convergence Analysis of Hypocoercive Sampling Dynamics Link Poster
Slides
28 Aug 2020 (Fri)
15:00-16:00
Prof. Zhenjie Ren
(Université Paris-Dauphine)
Training Neural Networks and Mean-field Langevin Dynamics Link Poster
Slides
14 Aug 2020 (Fri)
15:00-16:00
Prof. Jian-Feng Cai
(HKUST)
Landscape Analysis of Non-convex Optimizations in Phase Retrieval Link Poster
Slides
31 Jul 2020 (Fri)
09:00-10:00
Prof. David Xianfeng Gu
(Stony Brook University)
A Geometric Understanding of Generative Models Link Poster
Slides